National Science Foundation


The National Science Foundation (NSF) is a co-sponsor through the Horizon collaboration, a Theoretical and Computational Astrophysics Network funded by the NSF from 2013-2016.  The PIs are Eliot Quataert, Jim Stone, and Charles Gammie.  The group's goal is to develop, deploy, and apply novel numerical methods to create predictive models of black hole accretion flows in both the low accretion rate and high accretion rate regime. To learn more about the Horizon collaboration, visit their website

The NSF is an independent federal agency tasked with promoting scientific progress, advancing national health, prosperity and welfare and securing national defense. The agency provides funding for approximately 24 percent of federally backed reserach conducted by American colleges and universities. To learn more about the NSF, visit their website.  



Participating Institutions